Enyeama, Musa make final cut for CAF African player of the year award


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have shortlisted five players for the 2014, African player of the year awards, with two Nigerian players making the list, Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa, alongside the current  African Footballer of the year, Yaya Toure.

Also in the list are Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan and Gabonese star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Meanwhile, Ejike Uzoenyi was not shortlisted in the African Footballer of the Year (based in Africa) with ES Setif duo of Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belameiri, Congo’s Firmin Ndombe Mubele, Fakhreddine Ben Youssef of Tunisia and late South African captain and goalkeeper, Senzo Meyiwa making the cut.

The Head Coaches of the National Associations affiliated to CAF will vote in their order of preference to decide on the eventual winners of the two categories.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala, scheduled for Thursday, January 8, 2015, in Lagos, Nigeria.

Shortlisted player and the club they play for;

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire , Manchester City)

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria, LOSC Lille)

Asamoah Gyan (Ghana, Al Ain)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund)

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria, CSKA Moscow


One thought on “Enyeama, Musa make final cut for CAF African player of the year award

  1. How can you be footballer of the year, when you
    did not even qualify for the African nations cup
    2015. That does not make sense. You need to
    watch evangelist alex repent/our beloved super

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.