Chelsea dominate PFA’s Premier League team of the year


Six Chelsea players feature in the PFA’s Premier League team of the year, which was announced on Twitter ahead of Sunday’s PFA Awards ceremony.

Player of the Year nominees Diego Costa and Eden Hazard are joined in the team by defenders John Terry, Gary Cahill, Branislav Ivanovic and midfielder Nemanja Matic, while Harry Kane features after scoring 31 goals for Tottenham this season.

Manchester United’s David de Gea is named in goal, with fellow Player of the Year nominees Philippe Coutinho and Alexis Sánchez also included. Southampton’s Ryan Bertrand, who joined the Saints permanently from Chelsea in January, completes the team at left-back.

Hazard, Costa, de Gea, Coutinho, Kane and Sánchez are nominated for the PFA Men’s Player of the Year award, which will be announced during the ceremony at Grosvenor House in central London. Hazard, de Gea, Coutinho and Kane are also nominated for the Young Player of the Year award, alongside Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois and Liverpool’s Raheem Sterling.

Luis Suárez was crowned Player of the Year last season, before leaving Liverpool for Barcelona in the summer. Hazard, the bookies’ favourite to inherit Suárez’s title, was named Young Player of the Year at the 2014 awards. Hazard and Cahill are the only two players in this year’s eleven that also made it into last season’s team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.