President Jonathan submits list of Ministers nominees to Senate

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has on Tuesday February 17, 2015 submitted a list of nominees as Ministers of the Federal Republic to the Nigerian Senate for confirmation in accordance to section 147(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The list according to the release from the Office of the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matters includes: Patricia Akwashiki – Senator from Nassarawa State; Nicholas Akise Ada (Professor) from Benue State; Augustine Okwudiri Akobundu (Col Rtd) from Abia State and Fidelis Nwankwo from Ebonyi State.

Others mentioned were: Hauwa’u Lawan (Mrs) from Jigawa State, Mohammed Musiliu Obanikoro (Senator) from Lagos State; Kenneth Kobari from Rivers State and Joel Danlami Ikenya (Senator) from Taraba State.

Senator Obanikoro is the only nominee that resigned to contest the governorship election in Lagos State but was re-nominated.

The President assured that the nomination was considered under the highest trust, pledging the Senate to accord it traditional attention.

The screening and confirmation of the eight ministerial has been slated for next week.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.